The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 07-08-2017, 01:54 AM

Default Cloudy patches suddenly appeared in finish of my Martin 00-DB?

Hey everyone,

This is my first time posting to AGF, so I apologize if I'm writing in the wrong forum!

My Martin randomly developed a couple of odd areas where the finish looks kind of hazy/cloudy- seemingly overnight. I play it every day and am fairly confident these patches weren't there yesterday. If they were there, they were much less pronounced. There doesn't seem to be any residue on the guitar itself, as it wipes clean without leaving any residue on the rag AND without any improvement to the hazy patches.

The guitar lives in its case on the floor in the breakfast nook on my first floor. Thermostat runs on a schedule and never goes below 73 or above 75. I don't have a humidity regulation system for my guitars, but relative humidity in the room was 50-55% tonight (borrowed a friend's dehumidifier with relative humidity read out display thinking maybe that's the issue). The patches seem to be in places where my right arm would touch the guitar, but I'm not a very warm or sweaty person. I was thinking maybe I had on bug spray earlier in the day, but I'm not even sure about that. Patches are pretty hard to see except under oblique light; hopefully you can appreciate them in these photos. In the overhead photo I don't think they're visible at all.

Any insight would be GREATLY appreciated!!! I adore this instrument and just want to be sure this isn't indicative of big, serious issue that could damage the guitar.

Thanks!

Old 07-08-2017, 02:05 AM