The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 01-09-2012, 10:41 AM

Default Snobby Resonator Crowd?

I am just getting started into my search to play some resonators and see if it is something I enjoy. I love the sound and tone coming from these odd instruments and I listen to many artists who play them. That being said, I have been doing some research online for a decently prices Reso and have been met with quite a bit of backlash.

Being a Martin guy through and through, I love their products and I will gladly recommend them to anybody. However, I don't say things like "any guitar under 1000 dollars isn't worth your effort" like some have said to me in the resonator world.

I guess my question is, is that true or are the National Owners just being snobby? I may end up with a National one day but I can't justify the expense since I am not sure I will catch the bug enough to stick with it at this time.

I am strongly considering one from Hot Rod Steel at this point and I am just wondering if they would be "worth my time and $". Thanks.
Kevin Enoch Tradesman Open Back Banjo
Collings MT2-O Honey Amber
Royce Burt #560 5-String Fiddle
Old 01-09-2012, 11:08 AM

I've been on the reso prowl for a while: For the most part, the National Resophonics guitars (as opposed the the old National guitars) are definitely superior to most other resonators I've played. The older ones, if we ignore the collectability aspect, can be hit and miss - they can often need alot of work: after all, they are very old! But they have mojo in spades.