The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 01-18-2015, 03:12 AM

Default electric players -- how long did it take you to get used to acoustic?

Basically what it says in the title. . .I've been playing electric guitars for about 20 years. I won't claim to be a 5 or 10 hour a day practice kinda guy or even close to that, but that's how long I've been playing.

Recently got a new acoustic, have had them before but never played 'em much.

If you started electric and got into acoustic later (even if you still play the electric), how long did it take you to get as proficient on the acoustic as you already were on the electric, or did you EVER get to that point? I'm talking about getting used to the feel of the acoustic, the action, thicker strings, etc.

Been playing this Taylor 114CE with 12s for about a month (yes I realize that is not long). Probably an hour-ish of play a day, if not more (I go through our song list every day, and as a show approaches will start trying to perfectly nail or at least acceptably screw up the songs we will actually play in our set). Still beatin up my fingers and I still miss notes with my fretting hand more than I'd like, especially on the higher frets (esp. past 12). Bar chords are murder after a very short time.

Just wondering. Thanks.
Old 01-18-2015, 03:50 AM

it is just a guitar I could do anything on it I could do on electric. right away
Old 01-18-2015, 06:29 AM

I am impressed. My experience has not been the same. Let me elaborate. . .use 10s on my Les Paul, pretty low action. Taylor has 12s and is about 3/32" on the low E and 2/32 on the high (low for an acoustic maybe, higher for an electric).
Old 01-18-2015, 06:42 AM

I'm a little different-started on nylon, went to electric, then, after 6 years, went to steel string while in high school-but my advice isn't much different than the previous post.