The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 01-15-2015, 08:40 AM

Default Left hand stretch

Hello,
I've been playing guitar for 18 months. Getting on OK (better now I've upgraded my old classical guitar to a steel stringed acoustic with a narrower neck).
But I'm having some big problems with some stuff I'm learning at the moment which requires 1st finger on 3rd string 1st fret, and 4th finger on 6th string 4th fret. My hands are normal sized, and I have no problems stretching the fingers apart when my hand is flat (I can play a 10th on the piano, so hand size is not the issue).
As soon as my hand curves over the fretboard, my 4th finger curls inwards under the other three. I can't get it into position even if I put it there with my other hand. This is sometimes an issue when I want to do stuff with the 4th finger - it easily gets trapped under the third finger if I'm not careful.
Tilting the guitar neck upward into the classical position (so it sets on my left knee and the head is up near my face) helps because it lets me flatten the wrist out a bit. But I still can't really make that 1st to 4th stretch,
So my question is, are there any exercises which could help me get my 4th finger to behave better? Everyone else in the class can make the stretch, but I'm not even close. Does anyone else have this problem? is there something odd about my hands?
Old 01-15-2015, 08:47 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveBurt View Post
…So my question is, are there any exercises which could help me get my 4th finger to behave better? Everyone else in the class can make the stretch, but I'm not even close. Does anyone else have this problem? is there something odd about my hands?
Hi Steve…