The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 12-17-2023, 12:08 PM

Smile How to get on Acoustic Rhythm Guitars ?

Hi Guys , I am playing guitar for a long time , Self taught and was inspired by electric rock soloing . so most the hard work i did on these soloing chops . Whenever i pick up acoustic guitar I feel suck in rhythm playing (strumming) .
please let me know how can i get better on it . Any Instructional video lesson or something to work with .
Thanks
Old 12-17-2023, 01:53 PM

Hi, welcome! IMO regularly playing music with other people is a great way to improve so many aspects of playing, including rhythm. And it's a great way to have fun.

I've been going to 3 to 4 acoustic jams/song circles per week for the past 15 years or so.
Old 12-17-2023, 06:20 PM

You might try either the “Beginning Guitar” or “Roots and Bluegrass Rhythm Guitar” online video courses on Peghead Nation. The Peghead Nation courses are all month-to-month subscriptions so you can try one month to see if you like it for not much $ committed. Their pricing model is “per course, per month” so if you start one of them and want to switch to the other you can. Their courses pretty much all use a “learn to play by doing songs” methodology.
Old 12-18-2023, 08:22 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blues khan View Post
Hi Guys , I am playing guitar for a long time , Self taught and was inspired by electric rock soloing . so most the hard work i did on these soloing chops . Whenever i pick up acoustic guitar I feel suck in rhythm playing (strumming) .
please let me know how can i get better on it . Any Instructional video lesson or something to work with .
Thanks
Old 12-21-2023, 08:54 AM

It depends on what direction of better you're aiming for. Better fingerpicking? Better strumming? Better flatpicking?