The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 07-18-2014, 05:17 PM

Default Ovangkol/mahogany 000

Quick question for all the builders out there. I have a customer who wants an |Ovangkol back and sides/ mahogany top guitar. I have a beautiful set of Ovangkol and a nice mahogany top but it's a combo I have no experience with. Any yeas or neys would be greatly appreciated.
Old 07-18-2014, 07:13 PM

I see no particular reason why it would be bad tonally, but it might look a little strange.

I've only done mahogany tops on mahogany back and sides. Mahogany as a top in my opinion is a very niche tone. Compressed, dark, midrangey, possibly even somewhat nasally are how I hear it. Not as much headroom as spruce either. Not that it makes for a bad guitar, just a lot less versatile than a spruce topped guitar.

So I'd be asking some gently probing questions as to what he/she is hoping to achieve with that wood combo...

But I wouldn't strictly vote against it.
Old 07-18-2014, 11:08 PM

Thanks for the reply....I have built all mahogany guitars as well and am not a fan of the tone. I live in British Columbia, home of some of the nicest sitka tops anywhere but this customer is adamant that this is the combo he wants.He has ordered 2 guitars so I don't think I'll argue too much with him just let him be aware of what I think the range and limitations of his request will be.
Old 07-19-2014, 04:03 AM

Does he/she have any reason for that choice? Maybe he has had ovangkol/mahogany guitars before?
Old 07-19-2014, 11:30 AM