The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 12-29-2017, 10:38 AM

Default How to create recordings to give to friends - CD, or other format??

Hi, well I have a Zoom H2N but have not used it yet. I want to create a
"CD", or, more likely some other format of recorded Christmas and original fingerstyle originals. I want to present them as a gift to family and friends. What format would be expected and how do I create the product? I suspect that providing them with a CD would not be the best option as that format apparently is on the way "out" if not already ? I'm a beginner when it comes to recording and don't like complex high-tech gizmos...
Old 12-29-2017, 10:49 AM

What kind of computer?
Old 12-29-2017, 11:12 AM
Charter Member

For family and friends I might still go with CDs. With CD cases you can have nice cover art on the front and a list of tunes on the back. They are more like gifts than handing out USB drives would be. People can play them on their computers (most computers still have CD drives). However if they are not able to play the CDs at home then USB drives are a back up method.

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 12-29-2017, 11:57 AM
Guitar Gourmet

It doesn't feel official without the physical media format (CD). You can provide a slip of paper inside with a download link as well if you like.

Bob

THE MUSICIAN'S ROOM (my website)
Old 12-29-2017, 12:40 PM
Charter Member

I agree - it is still nice to give family and friends a CD. The cover can show a list of tunes/songs and you can print a link to you music if you keep it somewhere on the net as well. This is what I do.