The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 03-10-2016, 12:29 PM
Charter Member

Default j35 strings

I just changed the strings on my j35. It had elixir nanoweb pb light and that's what I replaced them with. I have always thought the b string and high e were a little too bright, but they are way too bright now. I have very little experience with experimenting with strings. Will medium strings work well with my Gibson and give it a less bright sounds. I like the feel of elixir nanoweb , but would like something a little less bright. Any suggestions?
Old 03-10-2016, 02:23 PM
Charter Member

Here's an entire thread regarding strings for a J35. Mediums are fine.

http://www.acousticguitarforum.com/f...d.php?t=355927

I just went from Elixir Nanowebs to Martin Monel Tony Rice Bluegrass mediums. I had NO idea two sets of strings could be so different. The Monels are definitely less bright and very musical.

Goodall, Martin, Wingert
Old 03-10-2016, 02:40 PM
Guest 728

I had great success taming the brightness of my J-35 with Pyramid Western Folk (round core) strings. A little expensive, but they sound really nice.

I also replaced the saddle with bone, which seemed to help as well.
Old 03-10-2016, 02:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpbrooks View Post
Will medium strings work well with my Gibson and give it a less bright sounds.
Medium strings of course will work.

Try Martin lifespans, they aren't quite as bright as Elixirs
Old 03-10-2016, 03:39 PM

I use either DR Rares or Martin Monels on my southern jumbo. Both in medium. They both give me that warm, dry tone I love in a good Gibson slope.
Old 03-10-2016, 04:07 PM
Charter Member

You might want to try the new D'Addario Nickel/Bronze. They are nice and round sounding without the tinny clang of the Martin Monels.
My guitars include Gibsons, Martins, Fenders, and others
Old 03-10-2016, 04:46 PM

Quote: