The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-03-2016, 12:59 AM

Default 12 String Action Height

Hey everybody,

I've been playing an old Applause 12 string for a few months just for kicks, and I'm wondering what sort of action height is normal for the different strings. Currently, it's set up so the 8va strings are lower than the main string, which is fine when I'm using a flat pick, but any fingerstyle is nearly impossible because I can't hit the high string with anything but my thumb. Is this the way most 12 strings are set up, or can the action be flatter so I can go back and forth between picking/fingerstyle?

Many thanks!
Old 01-03-2016, 03:02 AM

Are you saying that all the strings are the same height from the frets, with the bottom of the nut slots at the same level? If set up that way, then the only thing which would have to conform would be the skin of the fingertip(s) while fretting, so that each string in the pairs would bend the same amount to reach the fretboard, no?

If you set it up so that the strings were even on the tops at the nut, opposite how their bottom surfaces are all at the same level at the saddle, that seems like the octave strings would be slightly longer than the lower string of the unison pairs. I suspect that would also add some issues.

It sounds like you're at the beginning of learning how to play the 12-string guitar. Just as you might not have been able to effectively do fingerstyle playing on six-string at the beginning, because it was strange to reach between two strings to pluck with your thumb, now you just have to get used to sticking your thumb into that space so you're coming at the side of the octave strings.

You can either have your 12-string set up in a way which will introduce intonation issues, in order to avoid building technique, or just knuckle down and learn the technique from the start.