The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 03-09-2015, 11:55 AM

Default Thinking of Learning Fiddle

I am wondering if there are any fiddle players here, as my recent trip to a bluegrass festival (Wintergrass) has given me the fiddle bug a bit. I am in the process of learning the Mandolin, and I am just beginning the process of learning scales and soloing as opposed to simply playing backup chords and chop chords. I know the tuning and fingerings will transfer over, so I am very intrigued. I also have a friend who is very experienced that can get me started on bowing technique.

So my questions are as follows. In shopping for a fiddle, I want something used with character if possible. Is there a place online that you would recommend where I know that a potential fiddle has been checked over and set up?

Any mandolin players here who have crossed over? How hard was it for you?

Thanks.
Kevin Enoch Tradesman Open Back Banjo
Collings MT2-O Honey Amber
Royce Burt #560 5-String Fiddle
Old 03-09-2015, 12:47 PM

I tried fiddle for a couple years. I've played mandolin for about 35+ years. The tough thing is the intonation.
Not too hard to get the fingering, as yes, its similar, and bowing will come with some practice.
You may be able to play a couple simple fiddle tunes in a short time. But, the intonation is the key to playing well. And, this takes years.
As there are no frets, your finger placement has to be exact, or your sharp or
flat. You can slide into the note, which is an option to help.

I still fiddle at it some, pun intended, but as I look at it, I wasted two years learning fiddle, that I could have been playing guitar.

I have since focused on guitar going on 5 years now. Much more satisfying and it sounds a lot better by itself.

Give it a shot, its fun, but to play really well, like anything, expect many years of practice. Good luck.