The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 04-30-2017, 07:17 PM

Default Shubb Deluxe user, BUT...

As a preemptive statement let me say that I'm a dyed-in-the-wool Shubb Deluxe user, having arrived by way of being a long-time "regular" Shubb user, back as far as I can remember. (I've been playing for 50 years...)

That said, I do pick up other capos regularly, just in case there's something I'm missing out on. I know there are some newer candidates in the "something new and different" capo arena, but first off, I'm cheap, and second, there are a lot of folks who don't sing praises of the new kid on the block (reporting of difficulties) so I'll wait on that. I'm also not wanting to start another of the weekly "Which capo is best" topics...

The second-favorite guitar capo in my collection is a brass Victor, now marketed by Dunlop.

I also play banjo and have a Shubb Deluxe banjo capo, and a few others, mimicking my guitar capo acquisition syndrome. Among my favorite banjo capos is a Planet Waves Ned Steinberger design aluminum capo, so I figured I'd pick up a Planet Waves PW-CP-02 guitar capo to keep all the others company in the box.

Bottom line of this is that the Planet Waves is a seriously good capo. It does all the things my Shubb Deluxe does, but what I appreciate is that the adjustment knob is less finicky than setting my Shubb, and that's saying a lot. It also seems to be a bit easier to hit that Goldilocks zone of clear notes without slightly sharpening the tuning.

As said earlier, I'm a die-hard Shubb user so it takes a lot for me to post a recommendation for anything else, but it's worth a try for anyone looking for a solid performer at such a low level of monetary outlay. If it fails after a few years I'd get another one, it's just a tool in the arsenal.

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/det...WYDhoCAT7w_wcB
Old 04-30-2017, 07:54 PM