The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 07-26-2013, 04:15 AM

Default Fingerstyle Guitarist Gigs?

Hey all,

I'm new to the performance scene and thought this would be as good a place as any to inquire about the type of venues, coffee shops, etc. that are best suited for a musician of my genre. (I would post a link to my SoundCloud, but that would seem rather self-serving --- so just try to think of an Andy Mckee or Antoine Dufour-influenced musician).

Anyway, I've done a few open mics, but I was just wondering what types of places other fingerstyle guitarists tended to play at. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

... Also, if there are any Charlottesville or Philly musicians who can name specific venues in their area that would also be extremely helpful
Old 07-26-2013, 05:02 AM
Charter Member

Wine bars?
Old 07-26-2013, 05:22 AM

Depends on the scope of your material really... Could range from resto's and coffee houses, to open-minded songwriter circles etc... Unless you're putting on quite a show it might be a bit timid for rowdy bars. It's probably at the harder end of the scale gigs-wise, as instrumental fingerstyle is a bit of a niche market compared to singers/songwriters and cover bands etc...
Old 07-26-2013, 05:56 AM

Hello and welcome! (Noticed it was your first post ) The local brewery here has been a good audience for anywhere from electric blues to folk fingerstylists. They are less of a bar, and more of a tasting room attached to a nice patio perfect for bands. There is also a restaurant here that hosts the jazz society monthly - the place is run by a couple of food and wine enthusiasts who are also musicians. I guess after reading my answer again, a good answer is to think about where people who would like to listen to your music are likely to go.

Acoustics
2013 Guild F30 Standard
2012 Yamaha LL16
2007 Seagull S12