The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 06-21-2015, 02:25 PM

Default How do you justify the cost?

In March of this year I started taking classical guitar lessons once a week from a guy who teaches at a small guitar store. I am not a professional musician, I work as a librarian for a living. My guitar is a Washburn c5ce classical guitar which only cost me $150 + $80 for the case + tax. It has a cutaway. Otherwise it has the "standard" dimensions of a classical guitar. I had the guitar repair guy at the store put end pins put on my guitar and I practice standing with a guitar strap but I sit most of the time I am with the teacher. Otherwise I play the way I am taught or the way you are "supposed to" play classical or classical style.

Before I consider buying a higher end guitar I would have to really justify the expense. How would I justify buying another guitar when what I have "does the job ok"? How do you avoid feeling so guilty about yourself for spending more money than necessary on something you "don't really need"?

I can hear that notes played low on the neck are out of tune compared to the same notes played higher on the neck. The action may be too high even considering that the action is supposed to be rather high at the 12th fret. Part of the bridge or saddle that the strings rest on is not lined up right with the part under it. The case is warped and part of the padding onside of it is peeling away. But I haven't decided whether I should care about any of this yet.