The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 05-14-2017, 10:50 PM

Default TC Helicon Harmony G XT vs Play Acoustic

I have been using my Harmony G XT for a few years now quite happily though it is beginning to develop more small faults, I think internal Power supply related, as it is easy to unplug and reset, though not exactly ideal in live settings.

I was thinking about just replacing it, then saw the Play Acoustic.
I do not need any guitar preamp capacity on what ever I get, as I only use the Harmony XT to listen to my guitar via my volume pedal tuner out - no return.

The biggest reservation I have about the Play acoustic is its larger footprint on my board.

I use 5 different harmony settings depending on the song and it really covers my needs. I use the harmonies sparingly in any case.

I am happy with the sounds I get from the Harmony G XT and wonder if people think the Live Acoustic sound is that much better.

I play mostly solo acoustic covers in restaurants and relaxed outdoor settings.

What do you good peoples think?
1950s/60s Baritone Ukelele K&K
2020 Fender Limited Edition Jazzmaster Pure Vintage
'65 Pickups, & Series/Parallel 4-Way
Fender Supersonic 22" combo

JBL EON ONE Pro
Yamaha DXR speakers
Old 05-15-2017, 03:43 AM

It's only a fraction larger than the harmony gtx.

I upgraded a few years ago. Much better options for vocal effects and easier to save presets. Same adaptive tone as you have in the gtx and the reverbs might be similar, however better. But there are more adjustments available to fine tune things. I still only use about 5 presets though much more are available.

Not sure if you plan to use the guitar effects, but the added Bodyrez is rather nice. I have not used the Harmony gtx since I got the Play Acoustic.