The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 02-24-2018, 06:01 PM

Default Crossover string recommendations for a mix of musical styles please!

Hi guys,

Alejandro Cervantes is currently making a Cervantes Signature Crossover 1 for me which is now nearing completion. So I'm trying to do some research re possible strings for it. I play a diverse range of fingerstyle material including: Celtic, Blues, Ragtime, African fingerstyle, Hawaiian slack key, a few classical tunes, Mexican folk, a little jazz, Chet Atkins-style, covers of popular songs etc. I also use quite a few of the common alternate tunings.

Now, I have very little knowledge of nylon strings, but reading up a bit, there seem to be options of nylon, rectified nylon, carbon and titanium (there may be others too for all I know.)

I know that no one string set can possibly be ideal for all of the styles I play, but does anyone have an idea about any brand that might be able to cope acceptably well with the spectrum of stuff that I play? Also, are there any crossover-friendly strings that would cope better for blues-style note bending than nylon strings do? Ditto for strings that can handle alternate tunings?

I know I am asking a lot here and I will be very appreciative of any thoughts that anyone has to share.

Thank you,

Dom

Last edited by domhooper; 02-24-2018 at 06:06 PM. Reason: part of message missing
Old 02-24-2018, 09:33 PM

Check out Thomastik rope cores.
1986 Charvel Model 3A electric

2001 Fender Jazz standard bass
1935 A-00 Gibson mandolin
1815 JG Hamm violin
Kelii soprano ukulele
Old 02-25-2018, 07:14 AM

Thanks for getting back to me on that Paraclete. I will research the Thomastik rope cores as you suggest. I appreciate your help. Best wishes,

Dom
Old 02-25-2018, 11:00 AM