The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-09-2015, 09:03 AM

Default How to make strumming more interesting?

I've been playing for just over a year and have my chords down and can strum / sing but it's kind of boring. I've posted a few songs over in the Show & Tell section and a comment that I commonly get (and I completely agree with) is that simple strumming is boring and monotonous.

What are some good resources for learning to spice things up? I'm interested in playing around the campfire, for friends and maybe an open mic night but always solo. I'm not looking to be a lead guitarist in a band, just make my simple playing more interesting.

I've been playing around with walking bass lines, arpegios, and learning different voicings of common chords to add interest. I've started adding them in but need to learn more.

I've been self taught so far and that's worked but I'm wondering if I need an instructor. I may be beyond the "here's a chord. practice until you get it." and into musicality, which may be hard to learn from the internet.

Suggestions?
Old 01-09-2015, 09:11 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedJoker View Post
I've been playing for just over a year and have my chords down and can strum / sing but it's kind of boring. I've posted a few songs over in the Show & Tell section and a comment that I commonly get (and I completely agree with) is that simple strumming is boring and monotonous.

Suggestions?
There's a lot more to strumming than simple up/down. Watch some YouTube lessons on songs you know and you'll see that a different strum pattern can really liven up a song. And you're on the right track with some passing notes when moving between chords.

IMO (and I'm primarily a strummer also) strumming is never going to sound as cool as fingerpicking but it doesn't have to be boring.
Old 01-09-2015, 09:20 AM