The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 11-30-2015, 05:52 AM

Talking Martin GPCPA5 Vs 000X1AE

So I've been searching for the best (advanced) Martin for under $1,000 and have finally narrowed it down to two. I've played both and can't decide which one is better. Some people call the 000X1AE the, "perfect guitar" but the GPCPA5 is on every top 10 chart I've seen. Right now the 000X1AE is going for $549.99 and the GPCPA5 is going for $699.99. I'm actually leaning toward the 000X1AE because of the lower price but I would love a professional opinion on the matter. I've been playing guitar for about 3 years and am looking forward to a response.

Last edited by Noah Lyons; 11-30-2015 at 09:39 AM.
Old 11-30-2015, 08:34 AM

I've been looking at both online (except the GPCPA5K (koa)) for a few weeks now, but have yet to get to pick up either. I'd be interested in people's opinions on each as well.

Hopefully I'll get a chance to get to GC in a few weeks to be able to try out at least one of them.
Old 11-30-2015, 06:22 PM

I have a DX1RAE X-series and love it, awesome tone! Played a couple other X-series guitars which also sounded excellent.

Martin acoustics
Fender and Gibson electrics
Old 11-30-2015, 07:06 PM

You won't see a huge fan group of the X series here. I think it's Martin's use of innovative materials. I, however, own the 000x1ae and like it very much. I believe buying used for around $350-400 is a better option. It has nice tone & is very comfortable to play. In your price range I would seriously look at a used 00015 also.
Old 11-30-2015, 07:17 PM

I owned a 000x1ae that I played out with. It sounded great unplugged or plugged, and for the money they are hard to beat. I would highly recommend it!
Old 11-30-2015, 07:22 PM

Can you get the gpcpa5 with a 1 11/16 nut width?
Old 11-30-2015, 08:37 PM