The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 02-29-2024, 10:21 AM

Default One reason I believe I don't play well

It is my personal belief that when you play and you play well, you put a piece of your soul/yourself into it.

Bare with me as I try to explain this. And keep in mind that these are just my feelings, not fact, not anyone's truth, but mine. And I'm not sure I understand it.

I feel it's a bit like playing naked in front of whoever is listening. Or totally being your true unfiltered self in a very public setting. Being completely vulnerable and helpless. I'm not very good at putting my feelings into words, maybe that's a guy thing, I don't know.

I feel I'm a very weird and unique person. I have never found a "kindred spirit" in my life. I feel that when I have dropped the curtain, so to speak and let people glimps a bit of the real me, I've either been ridiculed, made fun of or made to feel like I was the only person in the world that was that way. And so I can't relax, turn loose and put my heart and soul into what I'm sharing with someone else.

My first marriage ended in a divorce and I never have forgotten what up until this time in my life was the worst feeling I have ever experienced. That feeling of realization that the one person that you had laid yourself bare to, heart and soul and shared some of your most intimate self with was now your enemy. Talk about Sun Tzu. The worst I've ever felt in my life.

I've heard it said that "every man has three hearts: one in his mouth, for the world to know; one in his chest, just for his friends; and a secret heart buried deep where no one can find it." It's that third heart that I believe you need to put a bit of in your performance.
In a nut shell, I feel I can't be me.
Old 02-29-2024, 10:29 AM

Quote: