The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 03-01-2017, 08:04 AM

Default Shoulder pain

Hey guys, I've recently changed my strumming/picking method from an open to a closed right hand. It was awkward at first but after a few days I noticed some significant improvement in my picking control, speed, accuracy, etc. the problem is ever since I started playing like this I'm dealing with this tightness and pain in my right shoulder and neck. I'm not sure if I'm not anchoring well enough with my palm on the bridge (used to use a pinky on the pickgaurd) and its causing my shoulder to support all the weight, or if it's something else.
My instructor says it's my big dreadnought and the fact that I'm just playing more than I used to, but I've played a dreadnought for 20 years and I used to play for hours without a problem, so I think it's the closed hand.
Any ideas?
Squier Classic Vibe Tele
Old 03-01-2017, 10:05 AM

When strumming you shouldn't be anchoring at all, normally. The movement should come from the elbow, swinging the forearm, usually with an additional flick of the wrist. The hand can be open or closed, but it never normally touches the guitar.
Anchoring the hand - either resting the wrist on the bridge, or pinky on the scratchplate - is for more intricate rhythms, or for picking arpeggios, or other fingerstyle techniques: anything where specific strings need to be hit at specific times, rather than all of them at once.