The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 02-16-2017, 09:58 AM
Charter Member

Default Bose L1 vs Conventional PA for Acoustic Solo/Duos

I am a singing guitarist that is struggling with live sound. I have used the Bose L1 systems (model 2, compact) in the past, but in a few venues I had a hard time hearing myself over a loud crowd. I play mostly in restaurants and bars.

I am currently using a pair of QSC K10 powered speakers and an Allen & Heath Zed10fx. I haven't really been in love with this setup since I got it. I usually bring one speaker out to gigs and it set up offset behind me on a stand. I've been considering putting the speaker in front of me and setting up a monitor to improve my monitoring and FOH volume. I feel like I am already bringing too much gear to shows where I have to set up in a corner.

I have been reading about the various line array type systems on the market lately and keep coming back to the Bose. Also I live in between Knoxville and Nashville and it seems like every acoustic group is using a Bose setup. Looking for advice to help me decide if I should expand my current setup or sell it and buy another Bose.
Old 02-16-2017, 10:31 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by stratmansblues View Post
I am a singing guitarist that is struggling with live sound.
You are not alone. It is an on-going process for many of us.
Quote:
I have used the Bose L1 systems (model 2, compact) in the past, but in a few venues I had a hard time hearing myself over a loud crowd.
This is somewhat surprising to me, since the typical set-up of a Bose system is to place it behind the musician (usually back a few feet), so that you -- as the musician -- are directly in the path of the projected sound. How are you physically positioning yourself, with respect to the L1?
Quote: