The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 01-02-2017, 08:41 PM

Default Metronome convert

Five decades ago my first piano teacher tried to get me to count as I played, and use a metronome. I hated it. Never took to counting, let alone using a metronome.

Fast forward thru years from 1965 to 2017, thru 3 piano teachers, a change to guitar in the last 5 years, and 5 guitar teachers! (one former guitar teacher, a friend, says I go thru teachers like kleenex ).

My new teacher really pushes me to use a metronome. Of course, now it is so much easier...an app rather than an apparatus. I am amazed at how the clicks keep me focused and challenged.

Just curious....teachers out there, do you encourage using a metronome? Those of you who had teachers, or even self taught, did metronomes come into play? (pun intended!)

Thanks for sharing your experiences and insights.

"We are music fingered by the gods." ~ Mark Nepo
Old 01-02-2017, 10:18 PM
Eric Skye

Nice! All my students use a metronome, and I personally rarely practice with out it. I made a short video about how I use it here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sWOa0vfv5FY Sounds like you found a good teacher. Good luck with your studies.
Old 01-02-2017, 11:43 PM

Eric enjoyed your vid- wish "Metronome" was in the title instead of Groove, so I can find it again more easily ;-)

I've recently been trying to use a metronome with limited success, but realize I NEED to figure it out and am actually excited about using one even tho its frustrating.

Oh I subscribed

Gibson "Custom Late 1950's Reissue Southern Jumbo Triburst"
Taylor 314CE (Built by Ren Ferguson)
Mystery Resonator
Fender Stratocaster
Old 01-03-2017, 04:07 AM

I've played guitar for the best part of 45 years, my timing is atrocious! Learn to play with a metronome, it will improve your playing NO END. Yes, I do possess one, and am only now starting to use it.