The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-05-2015, 08:25 AM

Default I'm learning the guitar and have a question.

I've been using the Justins guitar site for a few months to teach myself the guitar. I learned about the site hear and it has helped me a lot and I thank the forum members for showing it to me.
Here's my question. I've been learning three chords D,A,E. I'll place my fingers on the strings and pluck the strings. They'll ring true until I get to the ones that go THUNK. I'll work on getting that string to ring true then move on to the next chord. I've been doing this and only this for about a month now. I've kinda stopped progressing. I'm trying to get to the point where I put my fingers on the string for a chord and all the string ring true. My question is should I just accept the fact that they won't. Play the chord with the thunk. Ignore it. Figure as I get better the thunks will go away. For now accept them as part of learning. Play the chord thunks and all and move forward to the next lesson on the Justins guitar site. Or should I keep practicing each individual chord until I can place my fingers on the strings properly with out any string thunks most of the time?
Old 07-05-2015, 08:34 AM
Charter Member

The thing that helped me the most with that was playing in a finger picking style to John Denver songs. But there are many songs you can play in that style.

It sounds like you aren't using the correct angles to make your chords and your fingers are either hitting the strings next to each other or you aren't applying adequate pressure on the string.

try picking each string first and then strumming it a few times. Your fingers will learn where to go and how much pressure to apply.

It's also a good idea to try and find songs that only use 2 chords, then progress to 3 chord songs, etc. There are tons of songs out there like that.