The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 12-08-2019, 03:45 AM

Default Guitar vs Vocal volume unplugged

Hi Guys,

This is probably a really basic question, but I'm a complete beginner when it comes to singing...

When I sing and play - only at home for my wife - she says she can barely hear me sing over the guitar.

Should I expect to be able to sing louder than a strummed (with a pick) guitar? (ie I just need to man up and sing a lot louder), or would you expect to need a mic to be able to sing loud enough that a strummed guitar sounds like the backing instrument it's meant to be?

Yes I could strum it with my thumb or just attempt to play it gentler, but that's not what I'm asking - I want to know if I should be able to overpower a strummed guitar with my unamplified voice or if that's unrealistic for an average joe singer - I'm sure Pavarotti could do it. If it is perfectly doable I'll learn to do it.

Thanks!

p.s. I wasn't really sure where to post this. Mods please move if this isn't the right place.

Last edited by RalphH; 12-08-2019 at 04:59 AM.
Old 12-08-2019, 05:02 AM

Think of people sitting around a campfire strumming and singing, no mic required. There are people who can really belt it out, my brother in-law, over an aggressively strummed guitar. Then there are people like me who have to strum softer to be heard.

It really depends on your vocal chords. Either spend the time to learn to sing louder or learn to play softer.

Last edited by DownUpDave; 12-08-2019 at 09:04 AM.
Old 12-08-2019, 05:14 AM
Charter Member

Hi Ralph,

Just like with actors in a theatre, we have to learn to use our voice fully, or at least appropriate to our "Audience."

I confess that when I started (way back) I tried to sing at intimate talking level) and it simply didn't work.