The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 02-12-2021, 04:56 PM

Default Anybody come up with melodies in their dreams?

I've done it a few times. Even sounded good after I woke up. I guess the brain is an interesting thing.

My dad has solved engineering problems in his sleep.
Old 02-12-2021, 08:17 PM
Charter Member

Yes, I have made up good sounding music in my head as I was dreaming, then woke up remembering the music.

I have been practicing engineering for 51 years and have solved many mechanical design problems in my dreams. I have awakened at 3 am with a solution in my head for a problem I had been fighting for 10 years. I have over 20 US patents and at least a half dozen of those came to me in my sleep. I think it shows how hard I had been thinking about those particular problems.

Speaking of Northeastern Indiana where you live, I graduated from Purdue U. back in 1970.

- Glenn
Old 02-13-2021, 03:36 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennwillow View Post
Yes, I have made up good sounding music in my head as I was dreaming, then woke up remembering the music.

I have been practicing engineering for 51 years and have solved many mechanical design problems in my dreams. I have awakened at 3 am with a solution in my head for a problem I had been fighting for 10 years. I have over 20 US patents and at least a half dozen of those came to me in my sleep. I think it shows how hard I had been thinking about those particular problems.

Speaking of Northeastern Indiana where you live, I graduated from Purdue U. back in 1970.

- Glenn
Fascinating! Impressive Glenn!

Purdue is about an hour and and half away. Outstanding engineering and agriculture school.