The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 01-19-2013, 05:38 PM

Default NGD MP TELE with a story

Ok, so I have been basically absent from playing for about oh, 20 years or so, I sold my Tele back then and really have not messed with an electric guitar since. But recently our praise and worship band at church lost the acoustic player to College and couldn't seem to replace him with someone available to fill in full time, So that's where I come in, I studied and played both Electric and acoustic 25 years ago and was stage ready back then, although I never really hooked up with a working band I did audition for one and was second choice to the final pick (I thought that was close).

Anyway I talked to the band leader and told him I would be willing to purchase a nice acoustic and join up, and he said great go for it, let me know when you are ready, so long story short I purchased a Yamaha A3R and joined up. Things were going along really well and I was actually having a blast while playing with the team. they have keyboard, drummer, bass player, singers and me.

Now there is also a man in the church that I saw perform by himself with all the skills of any Pro lead player, he played with his electric and played and sounded flawlessly, this man decided to join us last week, so he showed up last Sunday with his gear and low and behold they inadvertently forgot to send him the song list (Yikes, I would not have shown up if it were me) But there he was all plugged in and set up, and ready to play and oh wow did he ever!

Now I have to be honest in that I tried to tune him/them out and just concentrate on my end of the deal (rythum) but from what I heard he was cutting edge awesome!