The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 09-27-2010, 02:18 PM

Default Pulling the trigger on a Nyberg Cittern

OK, so it is not really a guitar, but I'm hoping the mods will have let this stay here, it is a custom build. (Think of it as a short scale, 10 string guitar )

I've been thinking about some other kind of stringed instrument to add to my collection after having a 12 fret Koa Taylor for a week and it just wasn't enough variation. I saw and played a cittern (think octave mandolin or Irish bouzouki with 5 courses) at my local shop and became intrigued. One think led to another and I started talking to builders.

I have settled on having a mid scale (22 1/2 inch) cittern being built by Lawrence Nyberg from Vancouver Island in BC. Lawrence and I have been talking for a couple of months now and have settled on some specs. I have become very comfortable with Lawrence. He is good to give ideas to and give feedback of how he thinks it will work. He has also given me several ideas back, based on what I have been describing to him. A very easy working relationship. Here is what we have come up with:

First off, it will have a Port Orford Cedar carved top. I have been curious about POC for a couple of years now. Lawrence normally builds with red cedar or spruce. I mentioned a couple of alternatives. When I brought up redwood I didn't get much excitement from him. When I brought up POC he really got excited. The fact that he had that much interest made me feel more comfortable about it. It is not going to be just another build for him.

He and I spent a couple of weeks trying to locate a good source of POC. I found several that I passed along to Lawrence. He then checked them out and he thinks we've got a very knowledgeable source for it.