The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 12-27-2023, 08:49 AM

Post Newbie Question/s: How 2 start recording? (Acoustic Fingerstyle)

Hello! I've been lurking the forums for a few days now and I figured I might as well just ask straight up for any advice for my situation. So I've been looking for a good microphone (my budget is around $180 to $200) to record acoustic fingerstyle with (my playstyle is mostly derived from Sungha Jung/Tommy Emmanuel but I've been trying to learn/record percussive fingerstyle to branch out). I already have an audio interface to start with (M Audio M Track Duo) and I'm currently using a Boya BM-1 Lavelier mic to record (placing it just below the soundhole). Though one big issue I'm seeing (from the threads I've scoured) is that my room is untreated and I have a lot of background noise because of the fact that I live in a dorm. I'm curious if with my budget I can see a difference in sound quality

Aside from this, I would like to ask for advice on mixing? What's a good process/workflow and what kind of plugins work best for this type of playing? My workflow at the moment is as follows:

1. Initial compressor to fix uneven sounds
2. Pass of EQ
3. Applying effects (Reverb/Delay/Etc.)

What kind of effects is/are recommended to help make a good recording sound better? And are there any general rules of thumb in applying EQ/Compression?

I apologize for the somewhat unorganized questions, and I hope and appreciate any advice regarding this. Thank you!
Old 12-27-2023, 10:18 AM
Charter Member

First welcome to the Record forum
Second and first piece advice is go into your User CP window and go to Signature and list your system (see my sig line below, where it says "System"))
List basic computer brand model and OS version. List any DAW and version
That will make for much more efficient answers to any recording questions you may have in the future