The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 08-15-2015, 07:54 AM

Default Bose 301 Speaker and Schertler Amp Connection - ?

I had this in the wrong section:

Quote:
My regular amp broke down - the one I was using to drive my Bose speakers.

I don't want to buy a new amp just yet.

I am well aware how great an amp this is and the great sound quality I get from it, so please don't refer me to that ok.

I'm not an expert so I need help - my question is this: how do I connect the Bose speakers to the Schertler amp? OR is it even feasible?

Schertler David Amplifier
A compact combo with two bi-amped channels, spring reverb,
a host of practical connection options, and crisp, clear tones

301® Direct/Reflecting® speaker system -- speakers have separate amplifiers for the high frequency driver (tweeter) and the low frequency driver (woofer). The wires are of the 'frayed end' type so I'll have to modify them with 2 (L+R) Banana jacks.

Last edited by de_Genova; 08-15-2015 at 09:34 AM.
Old 08-15-2015, 05:49 PM

Probably be better if you gave the model of the amp. Do others the favor and find the manuals for the amp and speakers to look at.
Old 08-31-2015, 07:18 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by printer2 View Post
Probably be better if you gave the model of the amp. Do others the favor and find the manuals for the amp and speakers to look at.
OK here's the 2 manuals. Hope they're of help:

Manual for Schertler Amp

Manual for Bose 301 Speakers

Page from Schertler manual:

Page from BOSE manual:

Last edited by de_Genova; 08-31-2015 at 07:46 AM.
Old 08-31-2015, 01:20 PM

Initial look through of both manuals indicate No.. there is no place to plug in for addition of external speakers. Not saying it is not possible, just, the amp was not built to do that and would require a modification to adapt the Bose speaker in place of your combo speaker.