The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 02-19-2001, 11:09 PM

Post Any tips for a lefty trying to play normal(right hand)

I'm a newbie to guitar and this forum stuff.
I was born hopelessly left-handed, after alot of evaluation/advice I was convinced to buy a right-handed guitar (2001 Big Baby). Anybody out there have effective first hand info/advice on learning to play in this way?
***TO ALL*** Thanks for the advice & insights!!!
I went ahead and bought the Big Baby, the local dealer had their shipment of two come in so I picked the one I liked the best (at this point in my playing career-just begining-it is a hard sell to my wife to pay a grand or more for a Taylor left or right, the Big Baby is not avail. for a lefty). I hope I'm doing the next best thing. After sometime passes and playing ability gets better I'll convince her I need to upgrade.
An aside: after reading JW's Post on "The Holy Grail" I was reassured in buying my daughter a Baby-K (thankfully she is right handed).

[This message has been edited by waterdogmtb (edited 02-21-2001).]
Old 02-19-2001, 11:56 PM

Talking

Suggest you go back to store and try a left handed guitar. Sit with it and try a few simple chords, if you do not know any, have the salesperson show you. I believe that learning to play the instrument should be made as effective as possible. Seems that if you are already left handed, don't fight it.
If after you have tried the chords, both left and then right handed you should be able to form an opinion on which feels better. ( My bet will be left-handed)
Just something to think about IMHO.
Old 02-20-2001, 01:32 AM

Smile

waterdogmtb

I'm not trying to argue against what Dave F said......

but... I know, I know there's always a but...