The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 03-11-2018, 06:48 AM

Default Self-Guided Practice Help

I've been playing now for just over 9 months. Things are improving, slowly. I try to practice an hour a night. It's mostly a self-guided practice that I follow from a couple of lesson books, Internet content and tips from magazines, guitar apps and forums like this.

It's feeling a little stale lately, however. I usually start with practicing scales and then the twenty or so open chords I know and the follow that with some practice sheets for common chord progressions for those. I do that for about a half hour.

(A couple nights a week I practice Travis picking too.)

For the second half hour I practice songs that I want to learn. These are songs [that i like the guitar playing on] and that I think give me a varying amount of difficulty/simplicity to practice. They are: AMARILLO BY MORNING (Strait), CITY OF NEW ORLEANS (Guthry), THE GAMBLER (Rogers), CAREFREE HIGHWAY (Lightfoot), SOUTHERN CROSS (Crosby Stills Nash) and KILLING ME SOFTLY (Flack).

For the finger picking I've been working on LANDSLIDE (Fleetwood Mac), DUST IN THE WIND (Kansas) and THIS TOWN (Horan). I usually practice a song for a few days until I get a little bit better at it and then try a different one...and just rotate through those. This constitutes my practice hour.

For about a month now this has been feeling a bit dry and while I'm improving, I feel like I'm not following the right kind of practice. IDK...one problem may be that I'm not getting feedback from a teacher, someone who can point out mistakes in technique that I don't see, etc. I hesitate about paying for instruction right now just simply because it's a little too expensive at the moment.