The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-15-2015, 07:16 AM

Default crooked pinky syndrome

After a 25 year hiatus, I've been playing again for about 6 months. Previously I just played cowboy chords and never utilized my pinky (because I didn't adopt that version of the G chord fingering). Now I'm learning scales, working toward being able to play melodies over chords, and working on fills. I'm really having trouble keeping my pinky from dramatically curving inward, even on things as simple as the folk fingering of a basic G chord. Or, to keep it straight, I have to dramatically curve my other fingers. Are there specific exercise or techniques that I can employ in order to improve this? Thanks in advance. JJ
Old 07-15-2015, 07:41 AM

My pinky angles in too. Stretching and playing with it have given it an ability to stretch significantly more than the one on my non-fretting hand. I've been using my pinky while playing since I was a kid and learned to use it just fine. What really brought to my attention in recent years was taking up mandolin. G and D chop chords are brutal. The little mando neck looks tiny but those long chop stretches kill me. I devote some practice time to just bouncing between chop chords when I play. I also stretch and exercise my fingers while I watch TV. Doing all this has improved my guitar playing too. Playing a full C shape barre at the first fret is easy now. I used to struggle with it.

It will come with time and practice.
Old 07-15-2015, 08:03 AM

Bingocc, are there any specific exercises that you have found helpful? I've seen a YouTube video on warm up stretches that was recommended here on AGF, and I've seen some basic exercises on places like justinguitar that help with reaching on the fretboard, but nothing that has helped so far with my pinky issues.
Old 07-15-2015, 08:20 AM