The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-10-2015, 07:39 AM

Question How to Learn Songs?

I'm still relatively new to playing and I've just been reading through the thread about learning whole songs from start to finish

As I become more practiced I'd like to play fingerstyle and instrumental pieces....but I've got a lot of learning to do before that

So, with my ultimate aim in mind, how should I learn songs?

I have a Beatles song book which has the chords/rhythm as well as the notes for the singing in it

I was thinking I should learn the rhythm part and then the notes-part as shown in the book.....but how do I then turn that into a fingerstyle instrumental piece?

Basically, I'd like to learn songs (rhythm style) for me and others to sing along to, but I'd also like to learn them as instrumental pieces too as I think songs sound beautiful when played like that

I'll obviously be looking at other performers besides the Beatles, but thought they were a nice starting point as their songs are known by everybody, and most of them are relatively simple to learn

Thanks everybody
Have a great weekend
Old 07-10-2015, 07:41 AM

Double post
Old 07-10-2015, 10:33 AM
Charter Member

You're talking about a set of skills that take years to master, so it's best to take a step or two at a time. You're learning chords, so now learn some right-hand technique to make the chords more interesting than a simple strum. You Tube is your friend. If you search YT on the phrase 'guitar instruction fingerpicking,' you'll find a bunch of beginner vids that show how to move your right-hand fingers.