The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 01-12-2014, 03:07 PM

Default Learning classical and acoustic simultaneously?

Hello all

Short version - when learning acoustic guitar primarily and classical "on the side", which technique should prevail? Do the collide, necessarily? Must I choose one?
Is it a bad idea to learn both styles at the same time?
By technique I mean the position of the guitar, for example : right leg vs left leg.

Long version :

I started playing/learning the guitar almost a year ago. I started with a teacher, then switched to JustinGuitar as I wasn't getting the structure I thought I needed.
I've done that for a few months and am now feeling that I'd like to go in deeper. I'm close to finishing the Intermediate course on JG, and saw another teacher once a couple of weeks ago. I intend to exhaust everything that JG has to offer, eventually.

In the meantime, I bought Frederick Noad's Solo Guitar 1 book, as I'd like to get a good foundation and to learn note reading.Besides, my nylon string was getting lonely, so I thought why not?

So, can I learn classical guitar from the book and go on a parallel track with a teacher and/or other sites in a blues/rock/folk direction? Is it a bad idea to mix the two in terms of technique or other aspects that I'm too inexperienced to think of?

Thanks
Emil.
Old 01-12-2014, 03:26 PM

(First of all.... A little pet peeve of mine is that steel string acoustic guitars seem to have taken over the title "acoustic guitar". Classical guitars are acoustic instruments too, and so should justifiably be also referred to as acoustic guitars in my mind!).

OK, with respect to your question....

Opinions will vary, in part as a function of playing style, in part due to your body size and guitar sizes, and in large part due to personal preference.