The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 11-13-2006, 01:57 PM

Default Any Dobro Players In AZ?

Guys

First Time poster, long time lurker.

I have been playing for nine months, lessons once a week, 1 hour of rehersal a day, and still the lure of that nasty, dirty, scratchy sound of the Dobro still makes me sit up and take notice. I want to play blues music, and that just seems to be the sound I want.

Problem is, everyone I ask says to stay away from the Dobro, it will only make you crazy and want to give up the guitar all together. Now I am having too much fun doing this, and the fact that music is like Prozac to me I just can't take the chance that I might do something wrong.

So, any Dobro players in the great state of AZ that might be able to help me out?. Advice, sit down to see what's the best way to go, jam with a noob to let me see what I am missing?

I'm buying the coffee or the bourbon, whatever suits your style.

Thanks
Yetters

Baranik 00m
Charis Dreadnought
Larrive C10 Custom
Bourgeois OM
Lowden OM
Batson N0 5
Rainsong Jumbo
Gibson Blues King
Old 11-13-2006, 04:08 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yeti Man View Post
....it will only make you crazy....
Welcome to the AGF, Yetters! You're among friends here, perhaps even some AZ-types bent on making music with a Dobro. However, I think it would be good to point out that ANY guitar will make you crazy, and we have some 14,000 people here to prove it!

Of course, some of us are crazier than others....

cotten
Old 11-13-2006, 07:26 PM

Default Yep

Cotton

THANKS!

I know that this is the start of something good. Music has always ben a pull to me, just never got the nerve till a friend left a guitar here after a long visit. He told me " I know if I leave this thing here, you will have to learn how to play ".