The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 10-26-2017, 09:26 PM

Default Posture and guitar position while seated

I'm 47, been playing for about 25 years. I'm self-taught with a few bad habits here and there, but I'm a pretty good strummer. Play mostly folk/alt rock. Since I don't play Electric anymore, and not in a band situation, I play Acoustic guitar now seated about 90 minutes everyday.

The more I observe others playing seated, the more I notice that they are able to keep the guitar neck flat and perpendicular 90 degrees from their body. I tend to cant the neck at a 25-30 angle and keeping the guitar body flush with my stomach feels odd. When I hold the guitar seated the 'proper' way the first couple of frets seem too far away and its painful doing bar chords around the first few frets. Not a problem when capo'd up to 3 or 4, but I'd like to start using 'proper' posture and seating position. For the record I play full scale Martin D size guitars.

Anyone else struggling with this issue when seated?
Old 10-26-2017, 09:43 PM
Charter Member

If my stomach was flatter my fretboards would probably be more perpendicular than they are

Even though I play seated I wear a strap to help keep the neck up and the guitar secure so I'm not holding it in place while trying to play.

As long as its comfortable for you, doesn't cause any other issues and helps your playing, then you're fine. If it isn't broken, don't fix it.

My SoundCloud page

Avalon L-320C, Guild D-120, Martin D-16GT, McIlroy A20, Pellerin SJ CW

Cordobas - C5, Fusion 12 Orchestra, C12, Stage Traditional

Alvarez AP66SB, Seagull Folk

Aria {Johann Logy}:
Old 10-26-2017, 09:56 PM