The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 07-19-2016, 06:54 AM

Talking Guitar buying advice and an icebreaker!

Hi guys!

My name is Liam. I'm a long time lurker on these forums, but a first time poster! I just wanted to use this thread to introduce myself and ask for a little bit of advice about buying a new guitar.

I've been playing guitar on and off for about 10 years now. At one time about five years ago, I was in a band with some friends from school and fastiduously practiced my electric guitar chops. Learning to play covers and originals in my favourite genre of post rock/indie music gave me a real buzz and purpose behind my guitar playing. I found that I rapidly improved as a player by playing music with other people too! Unfortunately, my band broke up and some of my favourite jamming buddies moved away. For a couple of years I still played guitar, learning tabs and playing along to records but it felt pretty pointless in contrast to what I was doing before. Naturally my interest waned and I played very little for a couple of years.

That all changed about 18 months ago though when I decided to pick up my guitar again and try and get back in the saddle. I still had trouble motivating myself to play electric, but for some reason I found myself spending three or four hours at a time jamming on my acoustic. I was pretty much just strumming David Bowie songs and singing away in my awful voice, but it had given me a new purpose to my playing again. I mean, it wasn't great! I'd certainly lost some of my fluidity and finger strength gained from playing electic all those years, but it was still music that could stand alone without a record playing in the background! I also really liked the simplicity of not having to struggle to set up my amp, leads and pedals and search for a decent tone (I'm terminally lazy...).