The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 11-13-2014, 01:42 PM

Thumbs up New guitar = lateral and vertical growth & renewed enjoyment. Anyone else experience?

Hi guys,

My background: singer (off and on), blues harp player for 20 years, serious guitar player for 3. My wife and I play out 3-4x a month. Multi genre stuff - mostly Americana, Bluegrass & Classic Rock stuff. My wife is a banjo player so we play what work with her skill set. I have been playing 95% rhythm with a few flatpicked tunes. Self taught, fairly mediocre, zero knowledge (or close) about theory but having fun. We typically practice 1-2 hours a night, 6 or 7 days a week.

Enter the Gretsch Honey Dipper resonator. I will add that I have dabbled with slide here and there for a few years, but never buckled down and got serious.

I have always been a blues guy. I have only had this guitar a few days. The nature of our practice has changed dramatically - focusing 80% on new blues material playing in open tuned G slide. I have noticed the following things:

1) When I play non-slide tunes my hand is significantly fresher, stronger and it takes less effort to play.
2) My vocals have improved. Easier. More effortless.
3) Relaxation while playing has improved.
4) The reso has exponentially increased the fun factor for blues and renewed my zest for playing. Not just it, but everything.

I guess stuff was feeling stale. I never expected that the reso would seemingly enhance everything. If I had known I would have gotten one years ago

Anyone else get a new guitar or adopt a new style and experience this? I'm interested in ya'lls experience in this regard.

Ibanez, Recording King, Gretsch, Martin
G&L, Squier, Orange (x 2),
Bugera, JBL, Soundcraft

Our duo website - UPDATED 7/26/19
Old 11-13-2014, 02:11 PM
Charter Member