The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 09-26-2013, 09:57 AM

Default Long time electric player, suggestion for first acoustic?

Hey guys,

New to this forum... I've been playing electric guitars for about 10 years, mostly Rock, Metal, Blues and some softer Jazz.
I always wanted an acoustic but only recently I've started listening to some acoustic artists like Al Dimeola, Tommy Emmanuel and others and think it's really about time that I'll get one.

I don't want to buy something cheap on the expense of it sounding and playing well... I really like great guitar tone and playability. On the other hand, I'm not looking to buy a 2000$ guitar (like an high end Taylor or Martin).

A store near my house holds a lot of Seagull models, and I thought of buying one since I've read a lot of great reviews about Seagull guitars, and they're definitely in my price range (even the better models are).

I've been thinking about the Seagull Maritime SWS Q1 Mahogany (or Rosewood). Can anyone comment about those or has any suggestion about which guitar to buy? Is there anything else I should pay attention to when buying a new acoustic guitar after playing mostly electric?

Anyone who's commenting, please do your best to comment about Seagull models since this is most likely what will be easiest for me to buy.

Thanks!

Miki
Old 09-26-2013, 10:04 AM

Seagulls are nice guitars. One thing to note is that their nut width is a little larger than 1 3/4". Coming from electric, I'm guessing you are used to 1 11/16". For some people it is a big issue and a deal breaker. For others it's no big deal. There are a lot of guitars around the price of that Seagull. Play a bunch. The winner will stand out.
Old 09-26-2013, 10:08 AM

Check out the Yamaha L series or A series. Wonderful sound, well made and slim neck like you are used to.

My website: