The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 05-23-2016, 10:31 AM

Default Olson question

I am fairly new to Olson acoustics, and found myself intrigued by the build, sound, and following these have! I'm a big fan of James Taylor, but honestly hadn't paid attention to his gear to notice.

Anyway, just a curiosity question: do his acoustics appreciate in value? I have noticed that the used models I see on Dream Guitars, Gbase etc all seem to have price tags higher than his current base price. Perhaps it has to do with options on those models (Brazilian RW, inlays etc). But even then it would appear they are higher than expected.

Martin Custom Authentic 000-28 1937

Martin 1944 00-18

Last edited by TJNies; 05-23-2016 at 06:03 PM.
Old 05-23-2016, 06:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJNies View Post
I am fairly new to Olson acoustics, and found myself intrigued by the build, sound, and following these have! I'm a big fan of James Taylor, but honestly hadn't paid attention to his gear to notice.

Anyway, just a curiosity question: do his acoustics appreciate in value? I have noticed that the used models I see on Dream Guitars, Gbase etc all seem to have price tags higher than his current base price. Perhaps it has to do with options on those models (Brazilian RW, inlays etc). But even then it would appear they are higher than expected.
I don't know about appreciating in value, but they don't depreciate very much, at all. As you said, it may depend somewhat on the options built in.