The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 04-30-2015, 03:06 PM
Charter Member

Default Ellipse Aura for acoustic only Shorty?

I intentionally ordered my SGA-FLE Shorty as acoustic only to avoid having a barn door preamp. Now I'm thinking about adding a preamp and undersaddle pickup.

The Aura Ellipse is appealing to me right now due to the no-cut installation. Has anyone tried one of these on a RainSong that can tell me their experiences?

Thanks!

Ken
Emerald Balor 5 string, Taylor GS-Mini Bass, RainSong SGA-FLE, WS1000 Classic N1 and WS3000 N1, Republic Resolian Style 804, Royall Teardrop Tenor Reso
A few electrics, a bunch of basses
Wandering the continent - CA > IL > NH > TX (for good, hopefully)
Old 04-30-2015, 09:22 PM

I have zero real experience with them but they sound fantastic on youtube videos featuring wood guitars. There are a lot of different ways to get acoustic tones from your SGA (I ordered mine the same way since there are so many great aftermarket options) but Fishman is obviously a reputable and respected company. I would imagine those killer studio images would sound just fine through a quality preamp just to have the ability to control eq and feedback a little more.

Love your guitar by the way!
Old 05-01-2015, 06:10 AM
Charter Member

Thanks!

I have an email in to Fishman asking about images for the RainSongs, but I think I'll do better to download the utility and see what they have for myself. My concern is that CF guitars are such a different breed from wood that non-specific images may not be of much use.

Ken
Emerald Balor 5 string, Taylor GS-Mini Bass, RainSong SGA-FLE, WS1000 Classic N1 and WS3000 N1, Republic Resolian Style 804, Royall Teardrop Tenor Reso
Old 05-01-2015, 06:24 AM
Charter Member