The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 04-04-2016, 10:42 AM
AGF Sponsor

Default Tony Vines Guitars Build Brazilian Cherry/Carpathian

Hello All,
My name is Tony Vines. I am excited to start a build thread on one of my "SL" models. Before I get started I would like to give a bit of background info. I have been building guitars for 26 years. During the first ten years of my career, I was the owner of a full service repair shop in Kingsport, TN. I also studied under Audey Ratliff of Ratliff Mandolins for a year. During my journey of guitar making I have been fortunate to gather information from guitar makers John Greven, John Arnold, Kevin Ryan and many more. I have been a musician since I was 14 with most of my interest in the acoustic guitar and drums. In 2008 I began to spend more time with my guitars as a player. This “players perspective” has been the most influential part of my career. It greatly helps me understand the guitar from "the other side" of the instrument.
I love making guitars. It has always been my desire to be hands on in every process....from bending sides to carving necks by hand to the finishing process. I hope you enjoy this thread!
My wood choices...