The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 08-27-2014, 09:24 PM

Default Help me choose: L.R. Baggs "Anthem SL" or "Lyric"

Hi Guys.

First off all, iam Brazilian sorry for my English.
Help me choose the best product to me.
I want to play gigs in small restaurants, cafes, bars, partyes, etc (for just around 30 ~ 50 people). I'll buy one amplifier (probably a Fishman Loudbox or a Roland AC 60/90), in some cases i'll play through a small/portable PA's systems.
I have a Yamaha F370 guitar (http://br.yamaha.com/pt/products/mus...70/?mode=model) it's a low cost Dred guitar but i really like the sound (like the most of the guitar players, i'm dreaming with a Martin ) )
My style of playing is fingerstyle and strumming.
I studied and listened a lot (in youtube) about Anthem SL and the Lyric.
I prefer the Lyric over the Anthem SL for the given reasons:
- Ease of install (later i will get a better guitar i want to keep the L.R. Baggs system)
- More fidelity of the acoustic sound.
- $100 cheaper

If a choose the Lyric:
1) Considering the use i described, will i have problems with feedback or difficulties to properly equalization?
2) I will miss the control of relative volume of the piezo/mic
3) I will regret not having the versatility of the Anthem SL?
Old 08-27-2014, 11:29 PM

I vote Lyric, especially if you're playing without a full band. You might have to cut the midrange and boost the bass a bit. But I still think it sounds better than an undersaddle pickup. Just don't stand directly in front of monitors and you shouldn't have feedback.
Old 08-28-2014, 08:54 AM