The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 02-23-2013, 11:09 AM

Default Can Anyone Vouch For This David Hamburger DVD?

Hi Everyone!

This is my 2nd post here, and I've been reading many of the great threads. I am NEW to fingerstyle blues, but have been playing classical guitar for 3 years now. Being so drawn to the blues, especially the acoustic fingerpicking blues, I have been searching for good instructional DVD's and saw on Happy Traum's Homespun website a 2 DVD download called "The Acoustic Guitar Fingerstyle Method" by David Hamburger. Has anyone been through this course, and if so, would you recommend it for a "newbie"? I thought, rather stupidly I might add, that playing classical guitar would make it an easier transition going to fingerpicking blues, but they're 2 different animals, and in many cases some of the blues fingerpicking techniques are a "no-no", from a classical guitar perspective that is.

I understand the alternating thumb and steady thumb technique, and I'm searching for a method/lesson that would guide me through the learning process methodically and logically. I've seen some methods that seem to jump right into tunes that I certainly wouldn't consider beginner level, and that can be frustrating when you're starting from the bottom.

So, if anyone can recommend this DVD or comment on it I'd greatly appreciate your opinion and/or advice. Thanks so much!

JB
Old 02-23-2013, 11:38 AM

Hi Rattler,

Over the years I have purchased and studied several David Hamburger blues DVD courses purchased from Truefire. Although I have not experienced the specific DVD you mention I will vouch for the Davids courses and would reccommend him. The courses I own deal with electric blues and he does a very good job of explaining why and showing how.

Blues
Old 02-23-2013, 07:06 PM
Charter Member

Location: Stationary home in NJ. Mobile home on any given highway.