The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 02-20-2013, 10:23 PM

Default Stefan Grossman's Curriculum

Hello, everyone. I'm new to the AGF. Having read several threads here, I gathered that some of you are following Stefan Grossman's recommended curriculum for blues fingerpicking. I myself am on the same path. I find working through his videos very satisfying, but at the same time I can't help thinking I'm missing out on something, most notably music theory, the understanding of "why." Stefan's approach seems to be song-centric. I've compared his lessons with those offered by other companies, and their approach all start with the basics: picking patterns, rhythm, etc., then various chord progressions, then finally songs. Is Stefan saying if you get enough songs under your belt, you will intrinsically "get" the progressions, the picking patterns? Another way of phrasing my question is: What are you guys doing to supplement his video lessons?
Old 02-21-2013, 03:45 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy125 View Post
Hello, everyone. I'm new to the AGF. Having read several threads here, I gathered that some of you are following Stefan Grossman's recommended curriculum for blues fingerpicking. I myself am on the same path. I find working through his videos very satisfying, but at the same time I can't help thinking I'm missing out on something, most notably music theory, the understanding of "why." Stefan's approach seems to be song-centric. I've compared his lessons with those offered by other companies, and their approach all start with the basics: picking patterns, rhythm, etc., then various chord progressions, then finally songs. Is Stefan saying if you get enough songs under your belt, you will intrinsically "get" the progressions, the picking patterns?