The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 11-04-2012, 05:39 PM

Default Learning how to play up the neck

Hey again everyone, I've been playing a lot of stuff recently that's just starting to move away from the cowboy chord position. I'm sick of being stranded, playing the same 10 chords over and over again and was wondering how you guys learned how to break away from the cowboy chords. I've been learning fingerstyle for the last 4 months, having a ton of fun doing it. The only thing is I feel like I'm limited in the amount of songs I can play since I don't know a whole lot of chords.

One of the songs that I recently learned that's sort of breaking out of the cowboy position is Simple Twist of Fate (Jonn Dalton cover) I'll toss the link down at the bottom of the post. It's a real fun song to play, I have no trouble playing the chords in the song, once I learn them it's not hard. I just don't really know where to start, so I figured why not ask all of you knowledgeable guitarists and find out how you started to move around the fretboard.

Thanks in advanced guys, I always get great responses here.

Video link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CuGq1-_gbTs&feature=plcp
2011 Guild M120E
Old 11-04-2012, 06:03 PM

Default Learning how to play up the neck

The first way I moved away from the cowboy chord is learning the E root barre chords, next the A root barres. Then you might wanna toss in some D shape triads. For lead work start with the major and minor pentatonic scales. That should keep you busy a while and will really get you moving all over. I hope that helps some
Old 11-04-2012, 06:29 PM
Charter Member

Boy, Zeke just nailed it... that's exactly what helped me. Learning bar chords enables you to move around and get some different voicings of the same chords. The E-type and A-type bar chords will certainly get you out of the first 3 frets.