The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 03-18-2015, 10:40 PM

Question LOTS OF QUESTIONS HELP! I am a newbie

Hey guys, so a few questions, please give me your opinion and help! Greatly appreciated!

As you read, keep in mind i want to try to save up, i've spent a lot on the guitar itself, i feel kind of guilty, but also keep in mind that i do have money xD. So give me some options that are the "bang for its buck" (aka best price to function/ worth ratio)
---------------------------------------
1. Lately i bought a "Lakewood M32CP" with a "LR Baggs Anthem Pick-up". I would like to record with it, however i have absolutely no clue to use it, i tried Google but not had much luck. So how exactly do i use this thing to record? An interface? Are there other options?

2. I also want a microphone for singing, i play mostly fingerstyle guitar but lately ive been singing a lot as well, I currently have an USB condenser mic from Samson, so i want something a bit better. Anything suggestions? I know Rode NT1 have great reviews, but buying that for around 400 and phantom power for around 100 plus what i have to buy for the Lakewood is a bit much.
(and if this mic is also good with recording guitar that would be great, as i have other guitars with no other ways of recording other than a mic. So does that mean i should look for only condenser mics if i want good vocal and guitar? i have no clue)

THANK YOU FOR READING THROUGH ALL THAT! ANY HELP IS APPRECIATED

Zordinary
Old 03-19-2015, 06:34 AM

Last edited by unimogbert; 03-07-2023 at 10:49 PM.
Old 03-19-2015, 08:36 AM

Since you ar emovingup from a USB mic (good idea to do so), I'd encrouage you to read this sticky thread over at homerecording.com:
Intro to Multitrack Recording