The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 01-15-2024, 01:29 PM

Default Is Ibanez positioning to compete with Cordoba for this market??

I'd be interested to hear if anyone has had experience with the Ibanez AEG5ON. I'm always on the lookout for an 'entry level' nylon string cutaway with a narrower nut, like the Cordobas, so when I saw the AEG5ON at the local guitar shop for $329 I had to check it out and was pleasantly surprised, especially for the price. The shop owner has refused to carry Cordoba up to now because of quality control issues, though now that they've been bought by Yamaha that could change. Anyways it's good to see that another manufacturer is getting into that growing niche of hybrids.
Old 01-15-2024, 04:45 PM

I have no experience with the Ibanez model.

Among entry-level priced acoustic-electric nylon hybrids, I generally don't expect exceptional acoustic tone so I examine instruments for (a) quality builds and (b) quality electronics. These instruments are meant to be played amplified.

The Ibanez AEG50N at $330 looks like it has a rather basic onboard preamp (volume & "shape" controls only) paired with an under-saddle piezo. It may work well if you have a good amp with built-in equalizer controls.

The lowest-priced Cordoba hybrid is the Fusion 5 at $460 with uses the Fishman Sonitone VT. I don't know much about this electronics unit other than that it has two dials (presumably volume and tone) in the soundhole. Like the Ibanez, it may need to be paired with a better amp.

The Yamaha NTX1 is worth a look at $460 as it has a 3-band graphic EQ (with volume control and AMF) paired with an under-saddle piezo.
Old 01-15-2024, 04:59 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mortimer Nelson View Post