The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 05-04-2017, 11:24 AM

Default HELP! Resonant Frequency Issues!

Hoping someone can help me with this. Although I’ve been recording demos in my bedroom studio for a while, I’m new to recording acoustic guitars.

This week, while trying to record my “best acoustic” (an old Canadian made Garrison) I came across an issue of what I can only guess to be resonant frequencies. To my ears, it actually sounds like the guitar is feeding back. I’m recording in a small, decently treated room with wooden floors and nine 2’ x 4’ four inch thick bass traps. My mic for this application is an awesome Telefunken 251 clone that was made here in Nashville.

This morning, I took my guitar to a local shop, which said that they couldn’t hear the problem I was describing. To be fair, it was loud in the shop and the problem only became noticeable to me after compressing/ doubling the part. The two most offensive frequencies are at around 930 hz and 740 hz. I’ve recorded the same sound with varying degrees of mic signal, varying distance from the mic, and different headphones (I thought spillage might be the cause of the issue).

I know this issue isn’t just in my head, I CAN hear it. Is this just a problem with all acoustics? Is it just my guitar? Does this point to a problem with my room? I’m very frustrated as my cheaper Martin sounds like crap, but doesn’t have this issue.

I’ve posted a terrible clip copied/pasted a few times in the attached file so you can hear what I’m describing. I really do appreciate any help you can offer.

Thanks!

Jonathan

Old 05-04-2017, 11:27 AM

Since posting this originally, I've tried a different room, 2 additional mics, and an additional set of headphones (to rule out feedback from headphone bleed), and nothing has solved my problem. I'm guessing it's the guitar.