The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 05-23-2016, 09:13 AM

Default Has anyone's playing intimidated you?

I've been learning guitar for around six months now and have to say I think it's coming pretty easy. I can play quite a few chords, change them quickly, have gotten the F chord in all three versions and have learned the chords to quite a few songs that I sit around singing & playing & occasionally my woman sings along also.

It's fun and I'm enjoying learning while trying to improve what I already know.

Now, where I choke. My father self taught himself to play guitar, long before youtube and the web. He is in his early 70's and started when he was about thirteen.

If he hasn't heard a song before, he can close his eyes, listen and within a few minutes he's playing right along. He also travels thru his church work and plays with many different groups. He plays a lot of lead when he is with a group. And by the way, he doesn't read music. He says he plays by ear.

I've had a couple good guitar players show me some stuff and had fun, but I can't get myself show my father what I can do yet quite frankly because I feel my skills are so low compared to his that it's embarrassing.

We do not have issues and we are also both in the building trades and often work together, he hasn't slowed at all with age.

Anyway, I didn't know where else to put this and was wondering if anyone else has ever felt this way and if so, how did you handle it. I typically don't feel this way about anything. Thanks.
Old 05-23-2016, 09:34 AM

Short answer: no, I've never felt intimidated just because someone can play better than me. At best, I'll be inspired; at worst, I'll just shrug it off because I know I can play (almost) as well as I want to already.