The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Archtops

Old 09-04-2013, 10:51 PM

Default Laminate vs Carved Solid top?

I have an interest in entering the archtop world but don't know much about them, although I've been playing guitar for many years. After a bit of research, I probably will go an entry level Loar (I'm interested in acoustic only).
I was in a store today that had a LH-300 and a LH-700. The LH-300 has a laminated top, the LH-700 a carved top. They sounded and felt pretty similar to me, to be honest - maybe the 700 slightly better but it was almost $1K more. I asked the sales guy and he said the carved top will improve with age whereas the laminate top would pretty much remain the same. I have read that the solid/laminate thing is not as much an issue for archtops than it is for flatops. Thoughts?
Herrmann Weissenborn
Recording King RP-10
Recording King RG-35-SN Lapsteel
Maton 425 12-string
ESP 400 series telecaster
Eastman T485
Deering Americana Banjo
My Youtube
Old 09-05-2013, 12:46 AM

It does matter. You may not hear much difference because of the way the music store has them set up. Somehow I doubt they have something .012 acoustic guitar strings (phosphor bronze 80/20's for instance) running on the Loar 700. I don't have one but some pretty experience players here like the solid wood Loar quite a bit.
Old 09-05-2013, 12:48 AM

Default Laminate vs Carved Solid top?

I have read that laminate works well if the guitar has a pickup as there is less potential for feedback. Carved tops generally sound better, but it's not essential. The price difference may or may not be worth depending on your intentions.
Old 09-05-2013, 01:24 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdq View Post